Random Thoughts

Views on life

How to create start and end date prompt in WEBI report

Posted by Hemanta Banerjee on November 1, 2010


Ran into this question on the BOBJ board asking how to create a WEBI report which can prompt the user to enter the start and end dates for running a report. Seems quite simple and useful so here is the solution.

I am using the adventure works universe to illustrate the process. The query I have created is show below.

image

Created a simple query which prompts the user to enter the year and months for analysis. Note that I will only allow the user to select a single year. If you want to do cross-year analysis then you would need to define a separate object in the time dimension as “Year-Month” which would allow the user to perform cross year analysis. When I run the report I get prompted to enter the year and months for the report.

image

And the results are as shown.

image

Leave a comment